Resolution

Happy New Year everyone x

So, 2008… I wonder how long it will take for me to stop writing 2007 on my paperwork… I don’t know about you guys but I have issues with new years resolutions – if you want to stop something / do something why wait until January? This year however I have made a resolution. As you know when I split with my ex I was smoking vast quantities of cigarettes again within minutes, then I slowed down and up until yesterday was back on about 20 a day. However, today I had 2. And this is cold turkey, I have no patches, fake cigarettes, tablets, injections, lozenges etc… just me, my will power and some cherry tomatoes. Hopefully by this time tomorrow I will have smoked the grand total of 0 cigarettes. Have pity on my crewmate because I’m back at work tomorrow too and he sees me more than anyone else and so I will be putting his good nature to the test. Fortunately he doesn’t smoke so that should make it easier for me and if the snow we’ve been promised arrives I’m going to be even less likely to want to turn out in the cold to smoke.

I met an 88 year old lady the other day who had smoked since she was 14… she stopped 4 years ago… now there’s some motivation for me! Plus the money I’ll be saving (over £2000 a year) will come in handy, I’m due to have my first holiday in six years this year, I think I’m going to Turkey with my Aunty Brenda and her children but she’s organising everything – I just have to get a passport!

So wish me luck, this could be an interesting couple of weeks!

~ by Laura on January 3, 2008.

5 Responses to “Resolution”

  1. Good luck!!

  2. Good luck! I used to smoke socially and still fall foul of temptation occasionally when drunk, so I know how hard it can be to quit. Just think of what you could do with all that money – especially if you saved it up rather than just spending it on other stuff!

  3. good luck, hope you enjoy the extra £2k a year.

  4. Good luck! I quit in November and hope it all goes well for you, it’ll be worth it
    (that’s what I keep telling myself anyway!)

  5. which couple of weeks do you mean, the holiday or the cold Turkey? Seriously though, good luck. Just try and think of yourself as a non-smoker.

Leave a Reply

 
