Here I go again!

Smoking. It’s bad for you, it smells nasty, it’s an expensive habit and it’s becoming more and more socially unacceptable. However… it’s a nasty habit I’ve had for rather a long time. I did a good job at being a non-smoker when I was with the ex but about 20 minutes after we broke up I had fallen off the tobacco wagon again. However, I’m stopping again on July 1st which means that now would be a good time to buy shares in a chewing gum company! This time I’m doing it for the right reasons, I may just need reminding of them once an hour!!! I have decided to share my journey into non-smoking land with you my lovely readers. If anyone else is planning the same feel free to get in touch with me – I feel the need to start a support network! My email address can be found on the link to the right that says “contact me” (spookily enough) and that’s about it. I can’t write much more as I have to be at work again in 5 hours, I do sometimes wish that I could sleep at night, it would make my life so much easier! But I have some posts in the pipeline that I will sit down and finish soon – promise! Night night…

~ by Laura on June 19, 2007.

6 Responses to “Here I go again!”

  1. Good Luck! I’m not a smoker myself, but my other half is an ex-smoker, and I know from watching him give up how tough it can be…
    One piece of advice that I saw that might help is to buy in Chuya Chup lollies – that way you can have something in your mouth to suck, plus to give you the feeling of holding a cigarette (which is supposed to be another of the addiction triggers)
    Jo

  2. im too weak to give up smoking. good luck, hope you dont fall by the wayside to non smoking like i did.

  3. oops, me too (after 4 years)! Might give up again, dunno yet!

  4. Chuya-chup lollies work, and look a little sexy too 😉

    And if your worried about that giving up smoking weight thing (which i am sure your not) then you can get sugar free lollies too.. Yippie 🙂

  5. Stix – if you’d met me then you’d know “sugar free” is not something I do (except diet coke, I prefer the taste!)

  6. I’m giving up on the 1st as well! Best of luck in your attempt, I’m not looking forward to it at all…….

Leave a comment