Running

After I separated from my husband (yes, I’ve been married before – I was very young and it seemed like a good idea at the time!) I lived for a while in Deal – Kent, my life was fairly turbulent at the time (my Dad had just died, I hated my job, I was massively in debt etc…) To burn off negative emotions I used to go for a run along the beach. By the time I surrendered to the inevitable and moved back home to my Mum I was the thinnest and fittest I’ve ever been. Today for the first time since then I went out on one of my “anger runs”. I reached a point tonight where, after staring at the wall looking for answers and receiving none, I threw on trainers and ran. I managed to get all the way to Tower Hill before I found a bench and collapsed in a wheezing pile… I surprised myself with how far I got! Once I managed to start breathing properly again I took a more steady jog back home.

My life is frustrating at the moment because a lot of the stuff I want to happen really rather depends on other people and decisions that they make, and as we all know other people can be really unreliable… But on the upside, if I can’t resolve my issues to my satisfaction quickly I could end up thin and fit again, which is never going to be a bad thing!

That’s the cool thing about life, bad stuff can happen, difficult stuff can happen and good stuff can happen and we learn from it all. Life is like a book, it has chapters; and I feel that the one I’m in now is about to finish and I’m really excited to see what the next one has in store… I hope it’s a happy ending!

~ by Laura on February 17, 2007.

3 Responses to “Running”

  1. I hope everything works out for you , keep up the positive thinking and be careful running on them tha mean streets

  2. My goodness, I should try running.
    That kind of frustration has been sticking with me for half a year – everything I want to happen in my life seems to be taken out of my hands, lost my bread and butter job and the other one is still not paying off, found a new flat and got stuck in the middle of the renovation because of money running out, had to move in with my boyfriend into a one room space with absolutely no way to move out of each others way, and both kind of edgy because of the tight financial situation … I’ve been living out of bags for months now and I miss my books and cds and stuff that are all stacked up in a big pile of boxes in the middle of my half-renovated apartment.
    I feel like I’ve been waiting too long for everything, people who promised to give a hand but never show up, clients who promise to pay immediately but never do, my loved one needs to be kicked three times for every move he’s supposed to do, all this is kind of a strain.
    I’ll have trouble running, though, I’m sure, I’m noticably overweight and my knees aren’t in the best state anyway. D’you think swimming would work? It’s not as spontaneous as running, I know, but I think I’ll give it a try.

    I really hope your next chapter will bring a turn in the story – one for the better … and that you will be able to enjoy leafing back in your book and remember with a smile.

  3. there’s a nudist beach somewhere along that stretch of coastline.

Leave a Reply

 
