February 14th

As I mentioned yesterday I don’t go in for the whole “Valentine’s day” thing, I am however a hopeless romantic! And so I’m going to share with you a piece of writing by Kahlil Gibran the following is taken from a piece of writing by him called The Prophet from the chapter on marriage –

    =======================================

Then Almitra spoke again and said, “And what of Marriage, master?”                 

And he answered saying:
You were born together, and together you shall be forevermore.
You shall be together when white wings of death scatter your days.
Aye, you shall be together even in the silent memory of God.
But let there be spaces in your togetherness,
And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.

Love one another but make not a bond of love:
Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.
Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf.
Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone,
Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.

Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.
For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
And stand together, yet not too near together:
For the pillars of the temple stand apart,
And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

=======================================

I couldn’t agree more. And don’t forget that if you’ve found someone you think you can love let them know every day – not just on the 14th February! I spent 3 hours deciding what song to leave you with, in the end I decided on the genius of Sir Andrew Lloyd-Webber from The Woman in White.

Ok, and this one too…

hearts1.gif

~ by Laura on February 14, 2007.

8 Responses to “February 14th”

  1. Nice one – i think you’ve got exactly the right attitude to the day! I like the writing you quoted, too 🙂

  2. What a perfect sentiment for Valentines Day. However, I can not agree that you are a “hopeless” romantic. The words you quote are practical as well as beautiful. Thank you for making my evening (I’m in the States) a little brighter

  3. I agree, My wife and I are close but it can defanitly get ubhealthy sometimes. You need some bounderies

    http://www.verdispoetry.com

  4. I had no idea that they’d released a single of that song from The Woman In White. Thanks to you, I’m now listening to the whole soundtrack. It’s nice to hear someone describe ALW as a genius, rather than brand him as a pariah.

    You’re clearly a positive and optimistic person. All the better for you to enjoy your Valentine’s Day.

  5. Happy Valentine’s Day 🙂

    I *love* this song and I love THE WOMAN IN WHITE. I saw it 5 times in London and once in New York.
    Ever heard of MICHAEL SHAWN LEWIS by any chance ???
    It’s such a shame that it’s not on anymore.
    I kinda like Andrew Lloyd Webber. I mean, JOSEPH is crap, but PHANTOM OF THE OPERA is brilliant as well as THE WOMAN IN WHITE.

    My long time favourite is LES MISERABLES, BLOOD BROTHERS and probably BILLY ELLIOT, though.
    That’s why I love London. You can go to see a show whenever you like and I do that a lot *g*

    Have u ever seen BLOOD BROTHERS?
    Just a quick story:
    Once I went to see the show with my boyfriend and actually I really enjoyed it.
    After the interval I felt really sick and a little dizzy so I sat down in the corridor outside with a glass of water.
    Suddenly I heard a voice above my head: “Hey, you alright?” and looked into the face of a police man …
    I thought “oh my god, they can’t have called the police, I had just told one of staff that I’m fine and just need to sit down for a bit”… Then there was another police man right next to him and I noticed their uniform which was somehow “weird”…
    Then.. finally.. I realized.. (because I had seen the show before) that they were actors from the show.
    Do you know the last scene when Mickey shoots Eddie in the courtroom?
    The police come from behind through the audience.. They were just about to enter the stage.. IT WAS SO FUNNY! *LOL*

  6. Thank you for reminding me of “The Prophet”, I have loved it since my teenage days and for years I have printed out the chapter about children in my letter of congratulation to all my friends who gave birth to their first. The chapter about love is about as moving and full of truth as the one about marriage you are citing here. I think I will read the whole thing again tonight, I haven’t done so for too long a time.

  7. i think he’s encourageing “open relationships” there.
    swingers unite!
    umm…

  8. oops.
    apologies for the spiling… i mean spelling

Leave a Reply

 
